## **Merton Council**

## **Council Special Meeting**

Membership

The Mayor: Councillor Marsie Skeete

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor Judy Saunders

Councillors: Agatha Mary Akyigyina OBE, Stephen Alambritis, Mark Allison, Stan Anderson, Laxmi Attawar, Hamish Badenoch, John Bowcott, Kelly Braund, Mike Brunt, Michael Bull, Adam Bush, Tobin Byers, Charlie Chirico, David Chung, Caroline Cooper-Marbiah, Pauline Cowper, Stephen Crowe, Mary Curtin, David Dean, John Dehaney, Nick Draper, Edward Foley, Brenda Fraser, Fidelis Gadzama, Ross Garrod, Suzanne Grocott, Jeff Hanna, Joan Henry, Daniel Holden, James Holmes, Janice Howard, Mary-Jane Jeanes, Abigail Jones, Philip Jones, Andrew Judge, Sally Kenny, Linda Kirby, Abdul Latif, Najeeb Latif, Brian Lewis-Lavender, Gilli Lewis-Lavender, Edith Macauley MBE, Russell Makin, Peter McCabe, Oonagh Moulton, Ian Munn BSc, MRTPI(Rtd), Katy Neep, Jerome Neil, Dennis Pearce, John Sargeant, David Simpson CBE, Peter Southgate, Geraldine Stanford, Linda Taylor OBE, Gregory Patrick Udeh, Jill West, Martin Whelton and David Williams

Date: Wednesday 22 November 2017

Time: 7.15 pm

Venue: Council chamber - Merton Civic Centre, London Road,

Morden SM4 5DX

This is a public meeting and attendance by the public is encouraged and welcomed. For more information about the agenda please contact <a href="mailto:democratic.services@merton.gov.uk">democratic.services@merton.gov.uk</a> or telephone <a href="mailto:020.8545.3616">020.8545.3616</a>.

All Press contacts: press@merton.gov.uk, 020 8545 3181

## Council Special Meeting 22 November 2017

- 1 Apologies for absence
- 2 Declarations of Pecuniary Interest
- 3 Freedom of the Borough
  HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE BOROUGH

Council is recommended to agree to present the person named below with a certificate conferring upon them the title of Honorary Freeman of the Borough affixed with the common seal of the Council.

The motion to be duly moved and seconded is:

That, by virtue of the power vested in it by Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council does admit the late Reverend Andrew Wakefield as Freeman of the London Borough of Merton.

This honour is bestowed on the late Reverend Andrew Wakefield in recognition of the substantial contribution that he made over many years to the borough's religious and spiritual life; and for his extensive civic service and charitable work.

In particular, Reverend Wakefield was an active member of the South London Industrial Mission and he chaired a number of bodies including the Greater London Authority's Civic Forum, Merton Chamber of Commerce, Merton Partnership's Community Plan and the Safer Neighbourhood Board. He played a critical part in setting up the London Inter Faith Forum and was actively involved in the police's advisory body. Recently, the Reverend Wakefield served as Borough Dean and Roehampton University awarded him an honorary Doctorate of Divinity for his 30 years of service to Merton.

Note by Chief Executive: Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 requires a resolution conferring the title of Honorary Alderman to be passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon.

## Note on declarations of interest

Members are advised to declare any Disclosable Pecuniary Interest in any matter to be considered at the meeting. If a pecuniary interest is declared they should withdraw from the meeting room during the whole of the consideration of that mater and must not participate in any vote on that matter. If members consider they should not participate because of a non-pecuniary interest which may give rise to a perception of bias, they should declare this, .withdraw and not participate in consideration of the item. For further advice please speak with the Assistant Director of Corporate Governance.